Cracker English Toffee, Locked Doors and Always Forgive Who You Love

I slept terribly last night…which really isn’t saying much…I sleep terribly most nights. So when our dog squirmed and dug his paw into my back for the umpteenth time at 5:30am I rolled out of bed to start my day. It was actually nice to have some quiet to myself before LoveBug and Bug woke up. Hot Caramel Apple coffee while sitting om the couch with the remaining Christmas lights glowing.mug
While I was sitting there…an entire hour plus today (!!!!)…I started thinking about what I had to do today. One of those things was to post on my FaceBook page www.facebook.com/outside.the.box.services what Special Day today is. Well it happens to be English Toffee Day and when I googled an easy recipe for it to post I found Cracker English Toffee. J’s Nana used to make it and we loved it even though it seemed strange…strangely delicious! 100_0478 100_1098

Well in my exhausted state, my thoughts turned to my grandparents. My grandfather is 93 and has recently been moved to a long term care facility for alzheimers. It’s so sad to me how lost he has become but I am ever so thankful for all of the years I have had him around. I think about him multiple times every day when I get into my car because from the day I first drove to his house, if he said it once he said it 100 times “Always lock your doors.” and then he goes on to tell me the same story he’s told me 100 times about a stranger jumping in the front seat of his car one day that he was driving in Philadelphia. Every single time I get in the car I think of that story and I lock my doors…and I smile just a bit. It’s funny how things stick with you isn’t it? Like how my grandmother for my whole life has instilled in me that you should always forgive your loved ones because life is too short to stay angry. She always has encouraged me to stand up for myself (something I lost sight of for quite some years unfortunately) but to remember that we all are human trying to make it through life the best we can. Everyone makes mistakes, big and small and for those you love forgiveness is the best gift you can give back.
I have been truly blessed to have had this time with my grandparents and am so thankful that my children have had the opportunity to know them, hear stories from them, learn lessons from them too. When all else seems fuzzy I know for sure not to judge a book by its cover, to lock my doors and to forgive.

One thought on “Cracker English Toffee, Locked Doors and Always Forgive Who You Love

  1. Thank you for letting us into your world. I enjoy reading your posts and I think it is wonderful that you take the time to keep in touch when I know how busy you are. Take care my friend and say hello to your family for me:-).

Leave a Reply

