Chicken Soup for Mommy

Well over the past week or so, J has been super sick and both the Bugs have been fighting colds. I thought I had successfully avoided it….I thought wrong. It came on fast and furious but definitely was not as exciting as the movie trailer of the same name. I felt so dizzy and achy that I actually went to see the doctor who was so incredibly un-helpful to tell me that she “doubted it was the flu although she was confident it was viral.” In otherwords, no meds just suffer through it…oh and have a nice day. UGH!!! So I did what any Mommy of 2 would do: I snuggled on the couch with my Bugs and followed them to bed before 9:30pm last night.
Now in a perfect world I would have slept until 10am this morning and woke up feeling refreshed and great! Instead I woke up feeling like my head was going to split open, nauseaus, cold and achy…yuck yuck and more yuck! flu2
As you all know though life doesn’t stop when Mommy is sick. I took some Excedrin (tic-tacs as my good friend A and now I refer to them) and did my Saturday morning necessities: weekly meal delivery, quick stops at the food store and pharmacy then back home to crash. It’s days like today that I’m so glad I’m not doing this parenting thing on my own and that J is an involved Daddy. He helped with lunches and settling the kiddos so I could rest on the sofa and sleep…and sleep I did…for 3 hours.
I woke up in time to cook noodles for the Bugs for dinner and for me…homemade chicken soup with garlic, ginger and thyme. I’m counting on all the studies of it being a natural anti-viral, anti-fungal and antibiotic being 100% accurate because I don’t have time for another sick day. There’s laundry to be done, clothes to be put away, rooms to be cleaned. Mommies don’t get to have sick days…there’s too much “stuff” for us to do!

Leave a Reply

