You Can’t PAUSE the Quiet Game!

Do you remember the Quiet Game when growing up?  It should be called “Mommy/Daddy are desperate for a few minutes of quiet” Game.  Or “If you don’t close your mouths for 2 minutes I might just lose it” Game.  Or “Don’t You Ever Stop Talking” Game.  But I digress….  I was talking with someone the other day about our kiddos and the Quiet Game came up…she had never HEARD of it!  I mean she was about 5 years younger than me but COME ON!  Anyway, we were talking about travelling in the car with our kids and my contribution was how my Bugs, who I love more than life itself (yes its a disclaimer because you might question the truth of that before this post is finished! lol) were on track to drive me absolutely crazy in the car! (which according to J is an exceptionally short trip!!!)  Anyway…LoveBug suggested that we all play “the Quiet game.”  I of course was all for it because it meant I might actually get a few minutes of the all elusive thing called…quiet.  The game went something like this:

LoveBug:  “ok…1, 2,3…quiet”

*****About 2 seconds of silence passed*****

Bug:  “Pause…ok so if someone coughs or sneezes it doesn’t count.  Ok UnPause. 1,2,3…quiet”

*****About 2 more seconds of silence passed*****

LoveBug: “Aachoo!  (fake sneeze – Bug starts pointing)  Pause…I sneezed it doesn’t count.  UnPause.  1,2,3…quiet”

*****About 2 more seconds of silence passed*****

Bug:  “Pause…if you laugh without opening your mouth it doesn’t count.  UnPause. 1,2,3…quiet”

Bug:  “Pause”

Me:   STOP!!!  You can’t PAUSE the QUIET GAME!!!!!!!!

*******************************************************************************************************************\

We have a permanent site at a campground that we plan to spend most weekends at through October.  It’s about a 2 1/2 hour car drive to get there…and to get back home.  School is out this Friday…It is going to be a long, loud summer

Leave a Reply

