Reflect and Remember

reflect

Twelve years ago I believe life changed for all Americans.  For some it changed so tragically in very personal and devastating ways…my heart breaks just thinking about it.  For many others including myself, it changed peripherally:  increased airport security (aka longer lines), increased awareness of how fragile life is and how ill prepared we probably are, how fortunate we are to not live in a country where moments of terrorism and war are everyday events, and the list goes on.   Like most people I remember where I was 12 years ago at 9:03am (starting morning circle with a classroom full of Pre*K kiddos – J was working in Northern NJ.)  I wasn’t glued to the news – I couldn’t be, my responsibility was to the 20 children in my care.  J thought I was pretty much crazy when I just needed to hear he was ok – his response was something along the lines of I’m nowhere near NYC I’m fine.  But he was the most important and he wasn’t with me so I needed to know he was ok.  He thought it was silly of me…maybe it was…

Today a dozen years later I am reading many posts on Facebook about talking with children about the events of that awful heartbreaking day.  I wonder… do my 9 and 6 year old Bugs need to be talked with about an event so tragic?  I don’t mean that they shouldn’t learn about it EVER but is it necessary at 9 and 6?  I know I’m protective and conservative with some parenting topics…but I really believe that in too many instances, too many tragic horrific instances are shared with children.  Often done in the spirit of having the children learn from loved ones instead of their friends, etc.  And I acknowledge that not all parents are as limiting of information to their children.  But I’m quite pleased that my children believe in the goodness of people, of the world.  I have talked with them about “bad people” in the world and stranger danger and getting lost and what to do in certain situations.  But I don’t share information with them about school invasions or home invasions…I don’t want them to be afraid.  They will learn about September 11th…they should.  It is a day that needs to be shared with everyone forever – in remembrance of those that were lost, in honor of those who gave of themselves in so many ways to help, in care of survivors.  It is a day that needs to be remembered, shared forever so that all Americans for generations to come recognize and appreciate the freedoms that we have, the wonderfulness of our peaceful daily lives and for awareness of the world around us and how fragile life can be.  But do young elementary children need to have their innocent perception of the world shattered so young?  I really don’t know …What I DO know is that I love that my Bugs focus on all the good things in life and that the biggest tragedy of their days are whether they get dessert or not.  Do they know bad things sometimes happen and not all people are nice?  Yes unfortunately.  Do they know specifics of the fatal accident that happened this week 10 miles from our house? No.  And they don’t know details about school invasions and they don’t know about September 11th.  They will…They should…just not yet.

Leave a Reply

